top of page
  • Kate Gibson

BHS Seniors: Before, During and After COVID-19

By Kate Gibson



Reflecting back on his experience as a freshman at Barrington High School prior to the outbreak of the COVID-19 pandemic, senior Max Bleakney was in a relatively good place.


“My mental health was in a very good place at that time,” says Bleakney. “I made an albeit small amount of new friendships which expanded my horizons. And I felt like most of my teachers challenged me while also respecting me on a personal level.”


However, distance learning commenced on Wednesday, March 25, 2020, and, needless to say, hings changed for Bleakney and his peers in an unprecedented fashion.

“During COVID, my mental health was declining. I was losing my motivation and routine,” says senior Emily Silva.


Before COVID-19, students experienced a much more hands-on learning process that enabled them to be more connected with their peers and teachers. But, the main group of students who have experienced the before, during and after COVID times are Bleakney, Silva and the rest of the Class of 2023.


And, of course, many teachers at BHS went through the same thing.

“I found that teaching from home was depressing because most students left their cameras off,” said Spanish teacher Mrs. Kendra Klein. “While I understood that the students were self conscious about having their cameras on, I just felt so disconnected from the class.”


To get a better sense of BHS students’ mental health during COVID times, all students were encouraged to take the Panorama Student Survey last Spring after distance learning had ended, hopefully, for good.


Student Assistance Counselor Mrs. Joanne Royley, says the purpose of this survey “is to see how a student’s mental health has shifted.”


The survey consists of several different categories and many of the questions are geared towards social and emotional wellbeing, according to Mrs. Royley.


The top category was “School Safety” in which more than 80% of students said they felt safe at BHS; however, only 40% said they felt a “Sense of Belonging,” feeling as though they are valued members of the school community.


As for the faculty, who also took a Panorama survey for teachers and staff, fewer than 40% said BHS had a “positive school climate,” according to a recent presentation to the Barrington School Committee by Principal Mr. Christopher Ashley.


Improvising both of these disappointing results is one of his top school goals for the current school year, Mr. Ashley told the committee.


Both students and teachers completed another Panorama survey earlier this month. This year, 75% of students have filled it out, which is slightly higher than last year. Mrs. Royley notes that it will take time for the results to be reported.


As the school community awaits the results of these surveys, for at least two members of the Class of 2023, things are looking up this year.


“Everyone is more appreciative of the small things,” says Zoe Gerstenblatt. “I've made lots of new friends and connections with my peers.”


And as for Emily Silvia, she’s not taking her in-person time with her peers for granted over the next eight months.


“As a senior, I’ve found myself back into the dynamic I had at the beginning of freshman year where I was motivated and enjoyed my interactions with those around me.”


Recent Posts

See All

Masks Above Your Nose, Please!

By Amirah Woodruff Talon Staff About a week before the first day of school, we were informed that we would have to continue wearing masks...

bottom of page